Letter from an Indentured Servant

September 18, 1618

Dear family,

             

As you know I signed this contract to work as a farm laborer or an indentured servant for Mr. Lawrence’s plantations for 7 years.  When I arrived in Virginia I saw some indentured servants that seem to come from different countries or from Africa. The conditions here in Virginia are harsh. Many of the indentured servants that I have known since I have arrived here died because of sickness and they died before their term ended. Some of the indentured servants survived after their contract ended and they were able to get their freedom and claim land for themselves. Some African indentured servants even became rich farmers. I realized that some sold themselves as indentured servants just to survive when I asked them why they came here to work.

I hope to survive these harsh conditions and to finish my contract so I would be able to get more money than I had before and to get my freedom. Sometimes I feel so weak it’s hard to work especially in the scorching sun and the plantations stretch out in the vast fields that it never seems to end the work to do. But I’ve learn many things from this experience and I would never give up until I get through these hardships. I also think that coming here I think was a good idea not only because I can survive but also because I learn new things everyday while I am staying here.

It’s been hard to live like this for a while and I really miss you all. Even though we struggled with money and food I would want to go back there in England. I have eaten more food at home than when I came here and I was losing a lot of weight that my clothes I brought seem to be bigger. But I also received some benefits for example they given a house, tools, food, and some clothes. Anyways I’m going to write to you all soon, God bless you all and hope to see you soon!

 

 

Sincerely,

Katherine Peterson

 

 

Leave a comment